Lemon Coconut Cake with White Chocolate Frosting

I made this cake for a special birthday party. I usually make vanilla and chocolate cake because it’s a crowd favorite. Yet, that day I felt like making something with more of a summer flair.

This was my second time making this vanilla cake recipe and I LOVE it. I plan on using it for all future vanilla cakes. For the middle, I added a thin layer of lemon curd. Due to a time crunch, I did buy this already made from a local cake store that sells everything you can possibly think of to make cakes. For the outside, I used a white chocolate frosting recipe from the book Chocolate Cakes. Then I adorned it with sweetened shredded coconut. This is a cake I will definitely make again!

White Chocolate Frosting via Chocolate Cakes by Elinor Klivans

Ingredients:

6 oz white chocolate, chopped

1/2 cup unsalted butter

6 oz cream cheese

2 tsp grated lemon zest ( did not use this and it came out fine)

1 tsp vanilla extract

3 cups powdered sugar

To make the frosting: Put the white chocolate in a heat proof bowl and place it over, but not touching, barely simmering water in a saucepan (I put the white chocolate chips in a microwave safe bowl and heated at 1 minute intervals).  In a large bowl on low-speed, mix the butter, cream cheese, lemon zest, and vanilla until smooth and thoroughly blended, about 1 minute. Stop mixer, scrape down the sides, and add the powdered sugar, mix for about 1 minute. Mix in the white chocolate and beat on medium speed for 1 minute to lighten the frosting further.

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Lemon Coconut Cake with White Chocolate Frosting

Leave a Reply

